Writ has dropped – here’s who is running in Perth-Wellington, Huron-Bruce

MIDWESTERN ONTARIO – Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has called a federal election this fall and voters will cast their ballots on Sept. 20.

As some riding associations scramble to find candidates to run, here’s a look at the local candidates thus far.


In Perth-Wellington, which includes Perth County and the Wellington County municipalities of Mapleton, Minto and Wellington North, the candidates to date are:

The Green Party has not yet named a candidate for this riding

Knight is the executive assistant for Liberal MPP Mitzie Hunter. Kruchkywich is an actor who ran for the NDP in 2019. Baker ran for a council seat in North Wellington in 2018 but was not elected.

Conservative John Nater first won the seat in 2015 with 43 per cent of the vote over Liberal Stephen McCotter, who had 37.5 per cent.


In Huron-Bruce, which includes Huron County and the Bruce County municipalities of Brockton, Kincardine, Huron-Kinloss, South Bruce and Saugeen Shores, the candidates to date are:

The Green Party has not named a candidate for this riding.

Lobb was first elected to the House of Commons in 2008. Rice is currently an Assistant Crown Attorney with the Ministry of the Attorney General. Johnston is an education and community leader, and was the NDP’s candidate in the 1997 federal election. Stecho, 18, recently attended St. Anne’s Catholic School in Clinton. Smith is the store manager of Parsons Used Furniture in Goderich and is a representative with Primerica Financial Services.

General election information

Candidates have until Aug. 30 to register their intention to run.

Elections Canada states on its website that there will be four ways to vote in this election:

  • at a polling station on Sept. 20;
  • at an advance poll on Sept. 10, 11, 12 or 13;
  • by mail before Sept. 14; or
  • at an Elections Canada office before Sept. 14.

Voters who wish to vote by mail or at an Elections Canada office must apply for a special ballot.

Staff at polling stations will be wearing masks and be behind plexiglass barriers. Voters must also wear a mask and be physically distanced, with single-use pencils provided to mark ballots.

Full information can be found at elections.ca.