Independent Plus Listowel Banner Local News Walkerton Herald-Times Wingham Advance Times

Ontario announces $500 million in funding for municipalities

Local municipalities to benefit from Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund allocations

TORONTO ­– Local municipalities received some good news on Oct. 29, as the province announced they are providing $500 million through the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) in 2021.

Municipalities use OMPF funding to complete major projects and provide services, especially those in rural and northern communities who have smaller tax bases.

A total of 389 municipalities will receive funding, including many midwestern Ontario communities.

“Our government recognizes the importance of certainty and stability for municipalities, particularly in these challenging times,” said Rod Phillips, Ontario’s minister of finance.

“That’s why we are announcing the allocations for the 2021 OMPF today (Oct. 29) — consistent with our commitment last year to provide our partners with the information they need, when they need it to plan their budgets.”

A quick breakdown of local municipalities receiving funding:

Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh – $775,300

Municipality of Brockton – $1,488,100

Town of Hanover – $1,985,300

Township of Howick – $456,100

County of Huron – $1,061,700

Municipality of Huron East – $1,065,400

Township of Huron-Kinloss – $1,051,700

Township of North Huron – $1,320,200

Municipality of North Perth – $1,445,300

Town of Minto – $1,520,200

Municipality of Morris-Turnberry – $442,500

County of Perth – $1,020,400

Township of Perth East – $1,051,500

Municipality of South Bruce – $821,100

County of Wellington – $1,089,700

Township of Wellington North – $1,277,500

Municipality of West Grey – $1,571,300